A Little Mid-Week Help!!!

June 18, 2008

Ok… I am sure someone else out there is having the same kinda week I am! So here is a little something something to help you make it to the weekend!! 

 This is an authentic version of Sangria. You can add any fruit that you want, but I find that apples and pears absorb all the rum. This one is not diluted with carbonated beverages (’cause to me those are NASTY!!) I have much success with red Beaujolias wine and white rum, though spiced rum is nice too. So HERE we go!!!

 Classic Spanish Sangria  

 INGREDIENTS

  • 1 lemon
  • 1 lime
  • 1 orange
  • 1 1/2 cups rum
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 (750 milliliter) bottle dry red wine
  • 1 cup orange juice

 DIRECTIONS

 1.   Have the fruit, rum, wine, and orange juice well chilled. Slice the lemon, lime and orange into thin rounds and place in a large glass pitcher. Pour in the rum and sugar. Chill in refrigerator for 2 hours to develop the flavors.

2.   When ready to serve, crush the fruit lightly with a wooden spoon and stir in the wine and orange juice. Adjust sweetness to taste.

 

 Ok thats all I’ve got! but hey… maybe it will help you like it will me. Salud!

Leave a comment